Sunday, May 26, 2013

Democratic vacancy on the Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission

Jose Herrera, one of the two Democratic members of the Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission, has resigned from the AIRC, citing the time commitment required to fulfill the duties of a commissioner.  With the end of the actual crafting of legislative and Congressional districts part of the process,  most of those duties involve answering the lawsuits from Republicans who are upset that the maps don't overwhelmingly favor them.

With Herrera's resignation, the process for filling the seat has begun.

From a press release issued by the Arizona Judicial Branch -
Applications are currently being accepted by the Commission on Appellate Court Appointments for a vacancy on the Independent Redistricting Commission, which is charged with mapping Arizona’s congressional and legislative districts. This vacancy was created by the resignation of Commission Vice Chair Jose M. Herrera.

Residents of all Arizona counties are eligible to apply. To be eligible, applicants must be registered Arizona voters who have been continuously registered with the Democratic Party for the last three years.  People who have held or run for a public office (other than a school board), served as an officer of a political party or a candidate=s campaign committee, or worked as a registered paid lobbyist during the past three years are not eligible.

Application forms are available at , by calling (602) 452-3311, or at 1501 W. Washington, Suite 221, Phoenix, AZ.

Applications must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. on June 10, 2013.

Redistricting Commission members are barred from seeking or holding any public office in Arizona or for registration as a paid lobbyist during their term on the commission and for three years following.

The Commission on Appellate Court Appointments will review the applications and nominate a pool of three candidates. Representative Chad Campbell, Minority Leader in the Arizona House of Representatives, will appoint the new member of the Redistricting Commission.

No comments: