Tuesday, June 03, 2008

Congrats to the NCAA Softball National Champions, ASU!

Congratulations to the women of the ASU Sun Devil softball team on their decisive victory over Texas A&M tonight.

With the 11 - 0 win, highlighted by a 7-run seventh inning they clinched ASU's first national championship in softball.

The entire roster should be proud of their achievement, and the entire university community and the entire state should cheer them.

The roster (courtesy ASU's softball website) -

Clarissa Andorfer-Lopez, Rhiannon Baca, Katie Burkhart, Caylyn Carlson, Kaitlin Cochran, Mindy Cowles, Katie Crabb, Krista Donnenwirth, Megan Elliott, Dani Rae Lougheed, Jessica Mapes, Brittney Matta, Kristen Miller, Ashley Muenz, Amanda Nesbitt, Brooke Neuman, Michelle Nulliner, Sarah Rice, Colleen Robbins, Lesley Rogers, Mandy Urfer, Jackie Vasquez, Jessie Ware, Renee Welty, assistant coaches Kirsten Voak and Robert Wagner, and head coach Clint Myers.

Cochran, Donnenwirth, Rogers, and Vasquez were each named to the Women's College World Series All-Tournament Team, and Katie Burkhart was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player for her dominating pitching performance. (HokieSports.com)

AZRep coverage here.

No comments: